Forage Spokesperson Competition

The Forage Spokesperson Contest is one of the most popular and informative sessions at the annual AFGC conference. Individual farmers are nominated by state affiliate councils to present at the national conference. Each producer is asked to develop a 15-minute presentation which gives an overview of their farming operation. Emphasis is typically placed upon how forage management contributes to the overall farm objectives and marketing. An additional five minutes are then reserved for questions from judges and the audience. A diverse panel of judges comprised of producers, industry representatives and government agency employees score the producers on criteria including innovativeness, practical application of sound principles, communication skill and enthusiasm. We request that no video be used in the presentation as this impedes our ability to record the presentation.

⇒ 2022 Forage Spokesperson Nomination Form (submission deadline: 11/12/2021)

⇒ Forage Spokesperson Rules 

2021 AFGC Forage Spokesperson Sponsor:

2021 Forage Spokesperson Competition Winners:
1st place -- Miles & Caleb Von Stein, Ohio
2nd place -- Greg Dike, Kentucky

Miles and Caleb Von Stein are two Brothers that farm along with their families in Northwest Ohio.  They specialize in producing small square bales of Hay and Straw, primarily for the horse market.  High Quality is their number one goal when producing their hay, which consists of an Alfalfa and Orchard Grass blend.  They also enjoy creating new and building on their already existing customer relationships, as well as the Diversity that producing hay brings to their farm.

2020 Forage Spokesperson Competition Winners:
1st Place -- Eric Deal , North Carolina
2nd Place -- Will Bowling , Kentucky
3rd Place -- Reed Edwards , South Carolina

2019 Forage Spokesperson Competition Winners:
1st Place -- Bryan Eash, Indiana
2nd Place -- Anne Bays, Kentucky
3rd Place -- Tim Kelley, North Carolina

2018 Forage Spokesperson Competition Winners:
1st Place -- Ted Hughes, Georgia
2nd Place -- Buron Lanier, North Carolina
3rd Place -- Dave Fischer, Indiana

2017 Forage Spokesperson Competition Winners:
1st Place -- Dan Glenn, Georgia
2nd Place -- Dalton Bennett, Virginia
3rd Place -- Steve Carr, Indiana

2016 Forage Spokesperson Competition Winners:
1st Place -- George Lake, Pennsylvania
2nd Place -- C.J. Isbell, Virginia
3rd Place -- Galen Iverstine, Louisiana

image widget